Frequently Asked Questions

  • Home
  • //FAQs
  • //FAQs: Driving Violations and Points

Frequently Asked Questions
Driving Violations and Points

The department is authorized to suspend the license of any person who has accumulated 12 or more points within one year. Points are calculated by the date you received the ticket.

Orange Bullet 12 points accumulated in 12 months will result in a 30 day suspension of your driving privilege.
Orange Bullet 18 points accumulated in 18 months (including points from a 12 point suspension) will result in a 3-month suspension of your driving privilege.
Orange Bullet 24 points accumulated in 36 months (including points from a 12 point and /or 18 point suspension) will result in a one-year suspension of your driving privilege.

The point system is a graduated scale of points that assigns relative values to convictions. See Point Value Table below:

Driving Violations and Points:
  Speeding Violation:
Points:
Orange Bullet Less than 15 mph over the speed limit
3 points
Orange Bullet More than 15 mph over the speed limit
4 points
Orange Bullet Speeding resulting in an crash
6 points

  Moving Violation:
Points:
Orange Bullet Moving violation (includes driving during restricted hours and parking on a highway outside the limits of a municipality)
3 points
Orange Bullet Moving violation resulting in a crash
4 points
Orange Bullet Failing to stop at a traffic signal (effective October 1, 2005)
4 points
Orange Bullet Passing a stopped school bus
4 points
Orange Bullet Reckless driving
4 points
Orange Bullet Leaving the scene of a crash resulting in property damage of more than $50
6 points
Orange Bullet Improper lane change
3 points
Orange Bullet Violation of a traffic control sign/device
4 points
Orange Bullet Open container as an operator
3 points
Orange Bullet Child restraint violation
3 points
Orange Bullet Littering
3 points

Mandatory Restrictions For Minors

There are a number of infractions that can cause you to lose or restrict your driving privileges. The following are of particular interest to teen drivers.

Orange Bullet If you receive a moving traffic conviction while you have a Learner’s License, the one year period you are required to hold your Learner’s License will be extended for one year from the date of the conviction or until you are 18 years old, whichever happens first.
Orange Bullet If you receive 6 points on your driving record within a 12 month period, your driving privileges are automatically restricted to business purposes only for 12 months or until you are 18, whichever happens first. If you receive additional points during this restricted period, the restriction is extended 90 days for each additional point.
Orange Bullet If you have a blood alcohol level of .02% or more (applies to those under age 21), an administrative suspension of six months will result.
Orange Bullet If you are truant in your school attendance, your driving privilege is suspended until you provide proof you have attended school for 30 consecutive days.
Orange Bullet If you are convicted for possession of tobacco products (applies to those under age 18).
Orange Bullet The Point Value Table - Detail by FL Statute Driving Violation, outlines the Florida Statutes pertaining to each driving violation.
A Answers to your most popular questions about Florida Traffic School Online, Our Process, Testing, And what you need to know about our online courses. We ensure your success!

Florida Online Traffic School Courses Made Easy!
Ready to get started? Complete one of our easy to use online traffic safety courses in 5 simple steps:

2nd step

Complete the courses at your own speed.

3rd step

Complete all quizzes and pass the final exam.

4th step

Certificate processed and sent to you!

5th step

Present Certificate to your County Clerk of Court.