Frequently Asked Questions


Online Traffic School Frequently Asked Questions
Common Questions about Florida Traffic Tickets
Orange Bullet What types of cases are heard in Traffic Court?
Orange Bullet How Long do I Have to Pay My Ticket?
Orange Bullet What Happens If I Don't Pay in Time?
Orange Bullet Are There Other Options - Other Than Paying My Ticket?
Orange Bullet How Do I Enter a Not Guilty Plea To a Civil Infraction?
Orange Bullet Who Will Be Present At The Hearing?
Orange Bullet What Must I Do If The Court Finds Me Guilty?
Orange Bullet Can The Clerk's Office Advise Me of Points Assessed Against My License?
Orange Bullet How Do Parking Tickets Differ From Civil Infractions?
Orange Bullet Can I Plead Not Guilty even if I live in another county?
Orange Bullet What Are The Fine Amounts?
Orange Bullet Where Does Traffic Fine Money Go?
Orange Bullet If I Received a Traffic Ticket In Another County, May I Pay it in the county that I live in?
A Answers to your most popular questions about Florida Traffic School Online, Our Process, Testing, And what you need to know about our online courses. We ensure your success!

 

Q.

What types of cases are heard in Traffic Court?
A.


CRIMINAL TRAFFIC CHARGES: Charges such as Driving Under the Influence, require a court appearance & carry criminal penalties which may include fines & costs, probation and/or the possibility of a jail term. Payment cannot be automatically made to the Clerk's Office because persons charged with a criminal offense must appear in court on the date the officer has written on the citation.

CIVIL TRAFFIC INFRACTIONS: are non- criminal charges that can usually be disposed of by paying a civil penalty or opting to attend a defensive driving course. A court appearance is not required, except in cases where the violation involves a serious accident, or leaving a child under the age of six unattended in a vehicle. Payment can be made by mail - using the traffic envelope provided by the officer, or in person at the Traffic Violations Bureau.

Q.

How Long do I Have to Pay My Ticket?
A.



Civil infraction violations must be paid within 30 calendar days (from the date the ticket was issued).

Back to top

Q

What Happens If I Don't Pay in Time?
A.

A suspension will be entered against your driver license which could affect your insurance rates and will subject you to additional penalties.

Q

Are There Other Options - Other Than Paying My Ticket?
A.


Yes. Payable civil infractions may be satisfied by entering a plea of Not Guilty, by electing to attend a driver improvement course, or by submitting an Affidavit of Compliance for cases involving safety equipment violations which have been corrected and signed by a police agency within 30 days of receiving the violation and paying the dismissal fee. Traffic tickets written for certain violations may be dismissed by the Clerk upon the presentation of a valid driver's license, registration certificate or proof of insurance - along with a dismissal fee.

Back to top

Q

How Do I Enter a Not Guilty Plea To a Civil Infraction?
A. You must notify the Clerk's Office in person or in writing within 30 days. Your case will be scheduled for a hearing where you will be formally advised of the charge against you. You may at that time change your plea or go to trial.

Q

Who Will Be Present At The Hearing?
A.

The officer who issued the traffic ticket and witnesses called by the officer (or any witnesses that you call to testify on your behalf) will be present.

Q

What Must I Do If The Court Finds Me Guilty?
A. If you are found guilty of a civil traffic infraction, the court may assess a fine & costs, order you to attend a defensive driving course or impose other penalties. Fines are due on the day of court. If you fail to pay the fine and cost a suspension will be issued against your driver's license and additional penalties will be imposed.

Back to top

Q

Can The Clerk's Office Advise Me of Points Assessed Against My License?
A.

No. All concerns can be addresses to the Bureau of Driver License and/or your insurance agent.

Q

How Do Parking Tickets Differ From Civil Infractions?
A.

Parking tickets must be paid within 10 days from the date the ticket was issued. Fine amounts vary because they are set by (each) municipality and county through the passage of an ordinance. Parking violations do not affect your driver license, but if you receive three or more parking tickets or one handicapped parking violation which remain outstanding - you may be unable to renew your vehicle registration.

Q

Can I Plead Not Guilty even if I live in another county?
A. Yes, you may plead Not Guilty by completing an affidavit of defense and filing it with the clerk's office. A bond is required to be posted with the clerk before the Affidavit can be reviewed by the court.

Back to top

Q

What Are The Fine Amounts?
A.

Fines are governed by the Florida Statutes. The current fine schedule is available at the Clerk's Office.

Q

Where Does Traffic Fine Money Go?
A.

Fines are distributed to various funds established by the legislature. A portion is returned to the issuing agency and a service charge is retained by the Clerk of Court.

Back to top

Q

If I Received a Traffic Ticket In Another County, May I Pay it in the county that I live in?
A.



No - tickets must be satisfied in the county in which they were issued.

Florida Online Traffic School Courses Made Easy!
Ready to get started? Complete one of our easy to use online traffic safety courses in 5 simple steps:

2nd step

Complete the courses at your own speed.

3rd step

Complete all quizzes and pass the final exam.

4th step

Certificate processed and sent to you!

5th step

Present Certificate to your County Clerk of Court.