Know your new Florida traffic laws
A car slows for the second set of speed bumps coming onto the base (or the first set as you are leaving the base). The speed bumps aka "speed calming devices" were installed at Birmingham gate to increase safety for pedestrians and drivers arriving or departing NAS Jax. Photo by YNSN Aly Mahler.
Learning and heeding the new Florida traffic and motor vehicle laws enacted during the 2008 legislative session can affect both your health and your wallet.
Motorcyclists beware a person operating a motorcycle shall keep both wheels on the ground at all times, unless there is a circumstance beyond their control (in other words, no wheelies). Violators shall pay a fine of $1,000 for the first offense and $2,500 for the second offense. In addition, for a second offense, the court shall revoke the driving privilege for a period of one year. A third offense will be a felony of the third degree, a fine of $5,000 and a 10-year license revocation.
DUI just don't do it the base fines for a conviction of driving (or boating) under the influence are now: first offense $500 to $1,000; second offense $1,000 to $2,000; third offense $2,000 to $5,000; and fourth offense $2,000.
For a DUI conviction where the breath alcohol level exceeds the level for enhanced penalties, base fines are now: first offense $1,000 to $2,000; second offense $2,000 to $4,000; and third offense $4,000.
Let them cross the driver of a vehicle facing a steady red signal shall stop before entering the crosswalk and remain stopped to allow pedestrians to cross a roadway. The driver of a vehicle at any crosswalk where signage so indicates shall stop and remain stopped to allow a pedestrian to cross.
Bolt it on temporary license plates must be displayed within the license plate bracket on the exterior of the vehicle and may no longer be displayed in the window.
Complete copies of the bills may be obtained from the Department of State, the distribution offices of the Florida House and Senate, independent reporting agencies or the official web site of the Florida Legislature at www.leg.state.fl.us.
By Jax Air News
Ready to get started? Choose the class that's right for you. Our Internet driving courses include: Florida 4-Hour Basic Driver Improvement online traffic course, Florida Mature Driver Program, Florida 8-Hour Intermediate Driver Improvement , Florida Online ADI / Judge Ordered Class, Georgia 30 Hour Driver Education Course and Florida First Time Driver Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness (DATA) internet driving course.